On Marketing

If you haven’t heard of Seth Godin check his blog out if you’re more interested in this type of stuff: SethGodin.typepad.com

I had an interesting conversation with the owner of a Subway franchise today when I was picking up a sub.

By 2010 there’s going to be more subway restaurants than mcdonalds restaurants and the reason why is of course because everyone is so health conscious especially in the America. Obesity levels are high and a lot of elementary schools have banned soft drinks and chips because it’s that bad. What I find more interesting is of course the marketing (or non-marketing) with Subway. I rarely see those crazy planet-of-the apes like monkeys but burger commercials are always on. Another thing is the efficiency of their system. Compared to Mcdonalds they don’t have or need as many people to work at one time (just compare their kitchens). Also (I’m not sure about the other fast food restaurants), they have such an effective system they don’t waste any bread or other ingredients and are able to maintain their level of quality. In Canada there’s another purely Canadian chain called Mr. Sub. However, it’s not doing too well compared to Subway. And Quizzno’s, when they first came to Canada did really well but not anymore. Subways way of countering Quizzno’s was to install a toaster oven. Interesting..

However I will say this, and that is only Mcdonalds has been able to capture a very distinct memory in my childhood and because of that they got me for life. Which is weird because I spent most of my childhood eating at a Burger king :$. I guess it was those Mcdonalds Pizza’s that did it for me.

My question is this: What makes great marketing? When Subway launched the Jared campaign it seems nowadays that it was great timing (it was at the cusp of the health craze of 2000). It resonated with however many millions of obese men and women. Would it have been successful at any other moment in time? And what emotions did it appeal to? I’ll leave it at that

– turtle

Leave a Reply

