Art

I sent this to a friend almost a year ago. She asked me why I was selling my turntables and I replied with this:

“It’s about expressing the self. I don’t find dj’ing or scratching as raw as other things such as drawing, singing, or dancing. Don’t get me wrong, I do love scratching, but if it’s art we’re talking about then I’d want the medium I express it in not to be muffled by technology.”

– WOW. What a load of crap!

I have respect for artists of all kinds. But if I were to define or compare ‘genuine artists’ the rant would be something like this:

‘I once watched an interview with Tom Hanks when he was doing the junket rounds for Saving Private Ryan. He was talking about his early days in Sacramento State. He said one thing that would forever stick in my mind. To paraphrase: “The only difference between a ‘professional’ and an ‘amateur’ (actor) is the ability to take rejection. Not many people can go to 30-40 auditions and still say to themselves ‘boy I know I’ll get the next one!’.”

I believe in tenacity because (duh) it’s the things I’ve kept on doing that I’ve had success with. Therefore,  success is synonymous to the length of time you spend on your craft. I remember the main point in the Outliers was the 10,000 rule. Simply put, all successful individuals from Bill Gates to Mozart only became truly successful after spending 10,000 hours on their craft (he even says, even though Mozart was a child prodigy he only produced significant work when he was around… 17? ish?

Whether what you do is more less ‘pure’ because it’s muffled by technology was a pointless thought. In my mind, an artist is an individual continuously working on his craft and never stops.

ART = EFFORT + TIME

Back then I took the belief of ‘truth’ too far. There is no truth in art because art is just an individuals energy translated into some result. Unless there are rules confined (such as art school) then there’s place for truth.

I came across this fellows work a few weeks ago: Willard Wigan. I was utterly shocked at his work. It’s one of the most original things I’ve EVER came across. Unlike a painter which we all would dismiss as another (hopefully noble) profession, when I first came across Willard’s work I thought to myself “Wow this guy is amazing!” but then I thought “Why would someone waste 7-8 weeks on ONE sculpture? What function does this ultimately serve?” After thinking about it for a moment I came to the same conclusion in the beginning that it’s just something he does. Like Warhol, he doesn’t go about trying to explain to people why his work is important or what its supposed to mean. It’s what it is.

With my own art. I hope I will be able to teach myself that it’s about the OCD of constantly working at the two things that I have massive passion for.

– turtle

Leave a Reply

